Tourism at Home

09/08/2013

IMG_6274I am returned to Britain. As indicated by that archaic phrasing, I have been getting ‘back on the books’ before I am obligated to do anything other than recover from jet-lag, and visit friends. It’s a pretty strange change, all of this ‘being home for good.’ For one coping mechanism, I seem to have become a tourist in my own country. Searching for a beauty equivalent to what I left behind, and eager to jump upon my Romanticism of the British landscape, buildings and history which belonged to me as a child first discovering Jane Austen, I am admiring the age of infrastructure, the dryness of the heat, and attempting to learn the potential similarities and differences in Britain’s own ‘literary landscape’ in accompaniment to Tohoku’s pillows. My discovered persistence in longer-than-necessary walks, I hope, will stay with me here, and grow as I do. Can the names of British towns and rivers indicate meaning within works of literature, as kanji allows in the Japanese language? Can a phonetic script achieve such wordplay? I look forward to finding this out. (A part of me hopes it does not.)

One week in, and the familiar feeling of being back only for a holiday is turning. What I did not expect was the hearty pull towards my old, my own, apartment, perhaps now taken by another tenant, and made ‘un-mine.’ People are far easier to keep in contact with, after all, than an apartment. Katie has by now arrived in the very city I have left, but I don’t worry for her: her neighbours are very kind and wholesome people, and so is she. Good luck, Katie!

So with anticipation for a degree which intrigues me still (thank goodness nothing has yet faded!), the potential of the to-be-walked British landscape, and the promise of a Europe trip with Jen and Kristin in a year or two’s time, there is as much to be excited for in the future as there is to be missed in the past. I told Dora, on the eve of our leave, that we were not sad to be going, but happy to have been. I’m going to try to remember my own words, there. Phew.

One Response to “Tourism at Home”

  1. Haikugirl Says:

    Welcome home! I know exactly how you’re feeling, but it sounds like you’re taking the right approach. Being a tourist in my own country really helped me to deal with being back from Japan. Ganbatte! (*^_^)v


Leave a Reply

